At Shell Eco-marathon, teams can win on and off the track!

On-track, the competition is not about speed. It’s about energy efficiency. In both Prototype and UrbanConcept categories, winners are the teams that manage to go further on the least amount of energy.

Teams can also win prizes for their work off-track, in different categories such as Communications, Design, Technical Innovation and Safety.

Below you can view and download the latest list of results and awards.


2017 Off-Track Award Winners

Technical innovation award

Winner: Microjoule-La Joliverie, Lycee Saint-Joseph La Joliverie, France

Shell Eco-marathon record-setters Microjoule showed that significant advances in internal combustion engines can still be made. Through the use of advanced materials, coatings and design, they further reduced friction, heat loss and weight to improve the efficiency of their record-breaking compressed natural gas engine.


Vehicle design award (Prototype)

Winner: Poseidon, Piraeus University of Applied Sciences, Greece

Team Poseidon won because their vehicle was extremely aerodynamic and precisely built. Their vehicle was also made from recycled material, was visually appealing and very safe.

UrbanConcept: No award this year


Safety award

Winner: TUC Eco Racing, Technical University of Crete, Greece

This hydrogen car team won for their excellent blend of vehicle design and safety, as well as their excellent approach to safety while working at the event. The team also shared some of their hydrogen sensors with another team – demonstrating the Shell Eco-marathon spirit of collaboration.


Communications award

Joint Winners: Green Team Twente, University of Twente, the Netherlands and H2politO, Politecnico Di Torino, Italy

The standard was so high that the communications award was shared by two teams. Both impressed with their professionalism, strategic approach and enthusiasm for getting the message across in both social and traditional media.


Perseverance and spirit of the event award

Winner: UGATU Racing Team, Ufa State Aviation Technical University, Russia

This award recognises teams who have overcome struggles by working together. The first-time competitors towed their car on a trailer for 5,000 km to get to the event. Like many teams, they also experienced technical issues on arrival but worked together to pass technical inspection and get onto the track.

Drivers’ World Championship

After several days of sunny skies and strong competition, the famously fickle English weather brought an abrupt end to the final of the Shell Eco-marathon Drivers’ World Championship (DWC). The grand final had to be abandoned mid-race as rain hammered down on the track in east London. With the wet weather making it unsafe to finish the race, a US high-school team from the Saint Thomas Academy in Minnesota was declared the winner because it was the fastest in qualifying.


2016 Off-Track Award Winners

Communications Award

Team Prometheus, National Technical University Of Athens, Greece

Prometheus had two clear objectives: raise awareness and raise funding or sponsorship. They succeeded and exceeded in both by securing international crowd funding. Prometheus started by contacting the Greek embassy to get a list of Greek ex-pats from around the world. They ended up with 104 separate investors giving them a total of €5,800. Prometheus also used every means of communication, from TV to Press and digital, as well as their own website.


Technical Innovation Award

Team Prometheus, National Technical University Of Athens, Greece

The novel innovation that made Prometheus rise to the top was the highly advanced, near-autonomous advanced driving control system in their vehicle. Their driver pushes a button, and from that point the vehicle uses GPS and other technologies to assess where they are and what forces are acting upon them. If the driver gets off the button and then returns to the system, it recovers from that perturbation and looks for many other optimisations to complete the lap as effectively as possible – as an almost-autonomous, almost autopilot system.


Vehicle Design Award

Protype category

Team H2politO, Politecnico Di Torino, Italy

Team H2politoO won because their vehicle is not only efficient and ecological, with great aerodynamics, but also beautifully engineered inside. The design was completely thought through – very professional.

UrbanConcept category

Team UC SHELL ECO, Ostfold University College, Norway

Team UC SHELL ECO was a winner as their car is not just an oversized prototype that could never be put on the road but as close to the standards of real production as possible, which is a true reflection of the UrbanConcept category.


Safety Award

Team TUC Eco-Racing, Technical University of Crete, Greece

TUC Eco-Racing won for its excellent blend of vehicle design and safety, as well as occupational safety. A lot of thought went into the structural integrity of the vehicle – their chassis had crumple zones that deform to protect the driver, while being very structurally rigid. They balanced safety, performance and design.


Perseverance and Team Spirit Award

Team LSA Khadi AIS, Kharkibv National Automobile And Highway University, Ukraine

This award celebrates teams who have overcome struggles by working together to achieve success. Ukrainian team LSA Khadi AIS won this category because they have been through the most hardship in the Shell Eco-marathon Europe. Following issues with their Visas, the team has battled on, despite not all team members making it to the event.

They have also faced issues with their car, working hard to replace a broken part once they finally arrived in London. Despite all this, they passed technical inspection.

Drivers’ World Championship

The winner of the first Shell Eco-marathon Drivers’ World Championship was team Universitas Pendidikan from Indonesia. It was a hard-fought final race around a course that challenged many teams over the four-day event. But team Bumi Siliwangi’s battery-electric car from Bandung took the chequered flag. Sunday’s sensational victory wins the Indonesians a well-deserved week in Italy with the Scuderia Ferrari Formula 1 team, receive coaching on how they can improve their technology for next year’s Shell Eco-marathon.

The 2016 Drivers’ World Championship Podium

First place: Team Bumi Siliwangi, Indonesia

Second place: Team ISEN Toulon/SCS, France

Thirdplace: Alden-Conger High School, USA 

Read more about about the World Champions.

2015 Off-Track Award Winners

Communications Award

H2Zero (UrbanConcept, hydrogen) – Green Team Twente – University of Twente, Netherlands

Safety Award

ISTANBUL (Prototype, battery electric) – AE2 Project Team – Yildiz Technical University, Turkey

Technical Innovation Award

ARROW (Prototype, battery electric) – Vector Ecoteam – MINES ParisTech & Lycées Louis Armand, France

Vehicle Design Award

eLi15 (Prototype, battery electric) – TUfast Eco Team – Technische Universität München, Germany

Perseverance and Spirit of the Event Award

TIM07 (UrbanConcept, Ethanol) – Toulouse Ingenierie Multidisciplinaire (TIM) – INSA de Toulouse, France

2014 Off-track Award winners

Safety Award

Team Eco Motion Team by ESSTIN, France

Technical Innovation Award

Team GAMF, Hungary

Design Award

Kandó Electric, Hungary

Communications Award

H2politO - molecole da corsa, Italy

Shell Helix Tribology Award

Team Schluckspecht, Germany

Perseverance And Spirit Of The Event Award

SCB-MADI – Madi, Russia

Shell Eco marathon Europe 2015 prototype

News and Highlights

See the latest news and stories about Shell Eco-marathon Europe.

Read the highlights

More In Shell Eco-Marathon

For Europe participants

If you’re a participant or want to join Shell Eco-marathon Europe, see all you need to know about the competition.