Jump menu

Secondary Navigation | back to top

Main content |  back to top

The Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering awards £1m for a groundbreaking innovation in engineering that benefits humanity worldwide.

The prize is run by the Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering Foundation, an independent trust.

Nominations were open from February-September 2012. Hundreds of high-quality entries were received from across the world.


The first winners have been selected by a distinguished and eminent panel of judges made up of some of the biggest names in science and engineering: these include Professor Lynne Gladden and Professor Brian Cox in the UK, Professor Calestous Juma in the USA and Narayana Murthy in India.

The 2013 winners


Engineers Robert Kahn, Vinton Cerf, Louis Pouzin, Tim Berners-Lee and Marc Andreessen who created the Internet and the World Wide Web have together won the inaugural prize. Their innovations have revolutionised the way people communicate and enabled the development of whole new industries.

Today a third of the world’s population use the Internet and it is estimated to carry around 330 Petabytes of data per year, enough to transfer every character ever written in every book ever published 20 times over.

Shell and young engineers


Shell is one of 12 donor engineering companies supporting the prize. By celebrating the best in global engineering and innovation, we hope this prize will inspire a whole new generation of engineers.

We aim to encourage more young people to see engineering as an exciting career option. We also want to help show how engineers make a vital contribution, not only to the energy sector but to society as a whole.