Drivers' World Championship Winners

The winners of the first Drivers’ World Championship was Universitas Pendidikan from Indonesia. It was a hard-fought final race around a course that challenged many teams over the four-day event. But team Bumi Siliwangi’s battery-electric car from Bandung took the chequered flag. Sunday’s sensational victory wins the Indonesians a well-deserved week in Italy with the Scuderia Ferrari Formula 1 team, receive coaching on how they can improve their technology for next year’s Shell Eco-marathon. Read more about about the World Champions.

The 2016 Podium

First place: Team Bumi Siliwangi, Indonesia

Second place: Team ISEN Toulon/SCS, France

Thirdplace: Alden-Conger High School, USA

How does it work?

The winning teams from the regional events in Asia and Americas come to London to join this new competition between the best of the best. The sponsored travel is an additional recognition for the excellence, dedication and ingenuity teams put into this ground-breaking programme year after year.

  • UrbanConcept vehicles: 24 teams compete in 3 semi-final heats of 8 teams. The top 2 finishers from each heat + 2 best runners-up will progress to the final race.
  • 3 Energy classes (internal combustion, battery electric, hydrogen fuel cell)
  • 8 teams from each region
    • Top 2 teams per energy class + 1 wildcard in Asia and the Americas
    • Top 3 teams per energy class + 1 wildcard in Europe
  • All eligible teams must pass an additional Technical Inspection
  • All visiting teams must participate in Shell Eco-marathon Europe (out of competition) to set their energy benchmark.

What's new?

  • Grid start race: first across the finish line wins!
  • Live on-board fuel measurement
  • Handicapped race: Energy amounts available to each team depend on previous team performance
  • Speed limit: 60kph maximum

What are the rules?

The Drivers’ World Championship will run under a dedicated set of rules (Chapter III). These new rules are the result of several years of development work by the Shell Eco-marathon technical experts, which will allow us to measure liquid fuels highly accurately on board of the vehicles and relay the consumption live for all three energy classes to race control. This technology has the potential to revolutionise the way we measure Shell Eco-marathon competitions in future and how we can engage spectators.

Download: Shell Eco-marathon 2017 Rules - Chapter III

If you have any questions, please contact us by e-mail at

Drivers World Championship Q&A

Tech Tips and tricks

View the Tech Tips and get ready for the Shell Eco-marathon challenge.



Tech tips and tricks

More In Shell Eco-Marathon

For participants

If you’re a participant or want to join Shell Eco-marathon, see all you need to know about the competition.